Skip to: Page Content | Menu Bar | Main Navigation | Search | Page Footer

Third District Court

Welcome to the 3rd Judicial District Court of Nebraska
Jared D. Gavin, District Court Administrator
Justice and Law Enforcement Center
575 South 10th Street
Lincoln NE 68508

The Third Judicial District Court is a trial court of general jurisdiction serving Lancaster County, which includes the city of Lincoln, Nebraska, as well as several surrounding townships, including Bennet, Denton, Hickman, and Waverly. With eight judges and one referee, the Third Judicial District Court serves a population of over 280,000.

As a district court in Nebraska, the Third Judicial District Court has original jurisdiction in all felony cases, domestic relations cases, paternity cases, and equity and civil cases where the amount in controversy involves more than $52,000. The Third Judicial District Court also serves as an appellate court in deciding appeals from certain county court cases and most state administrative agencies. Decisions from the District Court may be appealed to the Nebraska Court of Appeals and/or to the Nebraska Supreme Court.