Skip to: Page Content | Menu Bar | Main Navigation | Search | Page Footer

News Release

Election Commissioner
Date: April 6, 2012

For more information contact
David J. Shively at (402) 441-7311

Election Commissioner Announces Polling Place Changes

Lincoln -- Lancaster County Election Commissioner David Shively announced today that new polling place cards will be mailed to all voters in the county on Friday, April 6th. Voters in the county should start to receive the cards in the next three to five days.

Shively recommends that voters destroy any old polling place cards that they may have in their wallets, purses or at home and replace them with the new cards they will receive. Voters should review the card to make sure they understand where their polling location is located. In some cases the location may have changed while in other cases it may have remained the same. Voters are not required to present the polling place card when they cast their ballots but they will need to vote at the correct location. Retaining the new card as a reminder is important.

In addition, the polling place card will also list the various districts or sub-districts for State Legislature, City Council, County Board, School Board and other political entities in which they reside. These districts may have also changed due to redistricting required by the various political subdivisions following the decennial census. Voters should review that information as well.

Per state law, the Election Commissioner is responsible for drawing and updating precinct lines following the decennial census and after the state legislature completes their work in redrawing boundary lines for their legislative districts.

Shively cited the following reasons for polling place changes:

  1. Changes in boundaries of Legislative Districts
  2. Balancing out the number of people voting per precinct
  3. Geographical considerations
  4. Annexations
  5. Accessibility for the disabled
  6. Cost savings
  7. Increase in the number of people voting early

Voters with questions regarding this matter should contact the Election Commissioner's office at (402) 441-7311.

Bookmark and Share