Online Traffic Ticket Dismissal Course
You may take the 4-Hour STOP course online or in-person.
If you are considering taking the online course please read the following information:
- How long does the course take and what is it like?
- The course takes approximately 4 hours to complete and can be done at your own pace with a convenient "bookmark" feature. The online course is based on the same content used in the National Safety Council instructor led Defensive Driving Course - the most widely used driver safety program in the world. Through animation, narration, video and interactive exercises the online defensive driving course offers an engaging, interactive learning environment where students analyze real driving situations, spot driving hazards, and identify the correct defenses.
- Why should I take an online traffic course?
- We want you to change your driving behavior and avoid future tickets, accidents, injuries, and even fatalities. So we make it as easy as possible for you to take an online traffic course instead of just paying a ticket. Take an online course and you'll avoid the points and fines up front. You won't plead guilty, you don't have to go to court, and you don't have to pay your ticket. No points will be assessed against your driver's license and you may save on car insurance costs. In this course, you'll learn life-saving driving techniques that will change your life forever.
- When must I register for and complete the online course?
You must register for the course within 10 business days by 5:00pm from receipt of your citation, and class must be completed by your court date on your citation.
There are no refunds if you fail the test or do not complete the online driving course by your court date.
You have NOT completed the online driving course until you have taken and passed the course participation questions.
- Does it matter what county I received my ticket in?
- If your ticket was written Lancaster County we can help. If your ticket was written elsewhere in Nebraska, you must register with the appropriate agency.
- What violations am I eligible to take an online course for?
County Attorneys / City Prosecutor's and State law determine which violations are eligible. You will be asked to input your violation(s) during the registration process and violation eligibility will be determined at that time. Input violation(s) during the registration process and eligibility will be determined at that time.
Common ineligible offenses include leaving the scene of an accident, reckless/willful reckless driving, injure accidents, and speeding more than 19 MPH over the speed limit.
- Can I take an online course more than once?
- Nebraska law requires that you only take a ticket dismissal class for minor traffic violations once every three years, from ticket date to ticket date.
- Can I take an online traffic course if I have a CDL license?
- Persons who hold a commercial driver license (CDL) are not eligible.
- Can I take an online traffic course if I was in an injury accident?
- Persons who received a citation after involvement in an accident with personal injury are not eligible to take an online course. For additional information about you accident choose who issued your ticket: Lincoln Police Dept, Lancaster County Sheriff
- What information do I need to register for the online course?
- You will need your driver's license or permit number, ticket number, social security number, and a valid credit card number to register for class.
- What happens after I complete the online course?
- You will be able to print out a Completion Certificate for your own use at end of the course. The National Safety Council transmits your online course completion information to the courthouse. The ticket is then dismissed.